In Love With Israel

05/11/2011 00:11

By Jim Fletcher


For decades, the state of Israel has maintained strong ties with several countries that serve strategic interests. It is no accident that in those countries, many of the citizens feel an almost unexplainable bond with Jews, and specifically, the Jewish state.

Stefan Williams, studying now at Hunter College (John Jay College of Criminal Justice), was able to experience that bond with Israelis first-hand this year when he realized a dream and visited the country.

Born in Georgetown, Guyana (on the northeast coast of South America, bordered by Suriname, Brazil, and Venezuela), Stefan immigrated to the U.S. when he was 11. Thrilled by the chance to live and study in America, Stefan didn’t have to wait long for that future bond to begin forming.

“At Lehman high school I met my first group of Israelis in the lunchroom and in my photography class where they came to visit our darkroom where we developed black and white film,” he remembers. “There were two somewhat random encounters but they sparked my interest in Israel.”

That spark became a flame when Stefan and his family made a fateful decision a year later to host two students from Rishon Lezion, Israel. It is the fourth-largest city in Israel, located south of Tel Aviv, and was the second farm colony established in 1882. It is that pioneering spirit that resonates with a young man like Stefan.

“From my hosting experience I just fell in love with Israel, its culture and its people. It was an amazing experience to actually see the individual faces of a nation that has often been portrayed by some in a negative connotation.”

The Williams family loved the experience and not surprisingly (as is often case in exchange programs), Stefan keeps in touch with his new friends.

“I have maintained a relationship with these guys via Facebook and occasional phone call. I had been promising them and myself to visit Israel someday, unfortunately it took me three years.”

Ah, but the wait was worth it, for he was able to see Israel in person, through the efforts of the America-Israel Friendship League (www.aifl.org). The group’s strong Youth Ambassador Student Exchange (YASE) program made it possible. In the lead-up, Stefan could hardly believe his good fortune!

“Traveling to Israel was an experience of its own,” he recalls. “A schoolmate from Lehman high school and I actually decided to go to Israel on the same flight. He was going to study there for a year and I was just visiting but since I didn't have an American passport I needed to apply for a visa. So we both went to the Israeli embassy in New York together, once to apply and second time to uplift our passports with our visas. I think at that point it became explicitly to me that I will be fulfilling this dream and actually going to Israel.”

Once in Israel, Stefan experienced what most first-time visitors feel (particularly Christian visitors): bliss. In fact, his excitement was so high, he was unable to sleep!

“When I first landed in Israel it was almost impossible to contain my excitement. Even though it was 6 a.m. when we finally arrived to my friend’s apartment, we were unable to sleep. So we went for a walk through the streets of Rishon Lezion where I got my first taste of Israeli food and culture. From there on it was just one amazing experience after another.”

Stefan’s “unbelievably welcoming” experience was enhanced by a visit to the Israeli resort town of Eilat, at the country’s southern tip.

“I can't even put in words the gratitude I have for these people who opened their homes and hearts to me. Today many of my friends in Israel are officers in the army and some have already completed their mandatory service and are beginning their studies for entrance examination to attend an Israeli university.”

Because of Stefan’s visit to Israel, he feels better-equipped to stand up for the small nation, so vital to American interests. Although he says there has been a “proliferation of anti-Israel sentiment” on campus, “The Hunter Hillel has done amazing work to combat the anti-Israel sentiment on campus but there is still a lot that needs to be done.”

The AIFL’s Charlotte Frank was a catalyst for bringing Stefan to Israel, and he remains ever-grateful:

“I am very thankful for the great work she has done because it was directly impacted my ability to become and stay connected to the YASE program. When I first met Dr. Frank it was on one of her many visits to our high school in the Bronx and for me it meant so much to see someone take time out of their extremely busy schedule to come to our school.”

With friends like Stefan Williams, Israel is far from alone. The love is mutual.

Post a Comment

No comments found.

New comment